Andy1252

a really basic question . . .

Andy1252

Hi, I just found out about you via a link in a post elsewhere. I've looked at your Black Marble and I'm not sure if it's what I looking for. My current issue is with the awful roads in P3D/FSX. I'm primarily a P3Dv4 user, and have sunk a large amount of money into addon scenery there - I have all the ORBX products and a huge number of other vendors' large airports. I was perfectly happy in that world until I started playing seriously with X-Plane 11, and one of the main things that knocked me out there is the quality of the roads. They actually look like roads, rather than the strips of badly cut canvas that get laid all over the place in P3D.

So my question is this - does your Black Marble & Vector combination provide a replacement for the default roads in P3D and if so, how would that tie in with ORBX's Global Vector product? I know I could just disable the roads in the ORBX product if need be. I'm not that bothered about the night lighting aspect, it's the roads that are bugging me.

And am I correct in understanding that your vector product would only replace the default roads? So anything supplied in an addon would still take precedence?

Sorry for such a basic question, and I'll be happy to be pointed to anything you've already posted on the site (but that I've obviously missed!) that will answer my query.

cheers,

Andy

• Haha 1

Chris Bell

welcome to our forums Andy :)
if that's small question; whats a big one for you?

you should do some reading on the forums; Black Marble is a configurable worldwide road system with night lighting,
we replace all roads, bridge, and traffic data worldwide from all vendors and native sim all together,

"the strips of badly cut canvas" are road pictures baked with Orbx ground textures,
we do not use any textures we use real vector data with Black Marble, our data is worldwide and complete,